Posted by: Jenn | February 27, 2009

The other guy

My boys

My boys

I’ve written some here about Alex and Ethan and how they inspire me and help me deal with this bump in the road.  The one person who has more to deal with than I do, does it gracefully and without complaint, and has largely been underappreciated in all this, is Dan.  I would not be able to handle two kids by myself when I’m healthy, never mind trying to do it when the chemo is kicking my ass.  If he didn’t prepare almost all of our meals, I probably wouldn’t eat.  He gets up with Ethan in the middle of the night, is an expert at preparing bottles, and is wonderful at distracting the boys when I need to take a nap.  He is an extraordinary father – he and Alex spend lots of time at the library and he loves to take the kids out for fun at places like Jump City and the Chelsea Treehouse.  It always cracks me up when I hear him and Alex singing along to the soundtrack of the Rocky Horror Picture Show in the basement at the top of their lungs.  He buzz cut my hair after most of it fell out, he’s patient with me when the steroids make me bitchy, and he laughs at my developing addiction to my new Blackberry.  He will never understand how much I love him and depend on him.  Let’s give him a hand!  He deserves so much more than that…

Responses

  1. What a great picture of “the boys,” and what a great entry, Jenn. You rock, Dan. You’ve obviously got it all together and love Jenn and the boys very much. Keep singing! (You knew I’d zero in on that part!)

    Lots of love to you all!
    Nikki

  2. Hi Dan, thanks for all you do to care for Jenn and the boys. You’re great.

    Hang in there, stay strong. This will all be over pretty soon.

    larry

  3. Jenn,
    What a treasure you have! Dan, thank you for your display of TRUE love. Keep on fighting!

  4. Yes, Dan ROCKS! You made me cry with your entry….It comforts me to know you are in such good hands. Dan is a wonderful role model for Alex and Ethan.

  5. Jenn, you have such a loving, helpful family to draw strength from. Thank you Dan for being such a wonderful husband and father. You are all in our prayers.

  6. Just passing along well wishes from Joe and me. Thank goodness you are tackling this head-on and thank goodness that Dan is able to help with everything so that you can focus on you.

    I saw your wig-post – I hope you know you are GORGEOUS and if anyone could pull off being bald, it would be you. That said, I hope you have found a solution that makes you feel comfortable.

    Hang in there!

  7. Ali forgot to forward the blog link to me. 🙂 Three cheers to Dan and the boys. And you. Take care!

  8. Dan, YOUR A KEEPER, and Jen has known that all along. It is a relief to know that she is in such good hands at such a crucial time in both your lives. Thank you God for putting Dan in Jen’s life, and for Alex and Ethan(who are just beautiful).
    Alex and Dan-keep singing.
    Love you all
    Uncle Eddie and Aunt June


Leave a Reply

Categories

