Posted by: Jenn | April 13, 2009

The results are in…

Last Friday, I had a CT scan and a PET scan.  I took pictures of the machines, but I’ll have to post them later because I haven’t downloaded them onto the computer yet.  On the other hand, since I have access to my medical records, I was able to take screenshots of my scans and post them here. 

CT stands for Computerized Axial Tomography.  There’s a good explanation of what CT is at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computed_tomography.  Basically, it’s a few hundred X-ray slices of your body.  They use it to provide a very detailed look inside your body. 

This is my pre-treatment scan:

CT1

 

This is my scan after 4 cycles of chemotherapy:

ct2

 

PET stands for Positron Emission Tomography.  There’s a good explanation of PET scanning at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Positron_emission_tomography.  A PET scan takes advantage of the fact that cancer cells use sugar at a higher rate than other cells.  Before the PET scan, I am given a small dose of radioactive sugar.  I then have to sit quietly for a hour while the glucose is taken up and used by the cells in my body.  After an hour, I am placed into the scanner and the machine measures which cells have the highest concentration of radioactivity in them.  Busy cells use more sugar.  The brain lights up because it’s always busy.  You’ll also notice that on my first scan my breats lit up because I was nursing.

First PET scan:pet1

 

 

 

 

 

 PET scan after 4 cycles of chemotherapy: pet21

 

 

 

 

 

The oncologist is happy with the progress – I’m responding well to treatment.  I’ll have two more cycles of chemo then another scan.  I won’t be happy until those white spots are completely gone (not the big one in my head, just the ones in my abdomen ;-)).

Responses

  1. I’m your first comment 🙂 I’m very encouraged with your pet scans (and impressed with your ability to annotate them~) Get those tumors!!

    Hang in there my friend.
    Love,
    Teresa

  2. Go Jenn and the incredible shrinking tumor. Good luck with the remaining treatments.

    Love,

    Michelle

  3. Jenn, this is great news…and thanks for keeping the inner geeks in us happy too 🙂 Please know you, your family, & all of your health care team are in our thoughts & prayers. We’re all very proud of you!

    Tree, Brian, & Katie

  4. Thank God!!!!!! I am so so so so happy for you!!!!

  5. We are so thankful to hear that those nasty tumors are shrinking!! Thank you God. You are continually in our prayers.

    Love you,
    Joe & Kris

  6. Jenn, that’s awesome! Chemo those little suckers away! Keep those spirits high and your loved ones around you and all will be well. We hope to see you soon!

    Love,

    Rena, Steve and Marlee


Leave a Reply

Categories

