Posted by: Jenn | May 4, 2009

Amended results

I’m happy to say that I was wrong about the PET scan results that I posted last week.  In the second PET image, the one where my brain is circled, I also circled two white “hot” spots in my abdomen.  I am extremely happy to let everyone know that those are not “hot” spots, those are my KIDNEYS filtering the radioactive glucose from my bloodstream.  All of the hypermetabolic lymphoma is GONE.

The lesson for me here is to let the experts do their jobs.  I had access to the images WAY before the images were read and interpreted, and I drew my own conclusions.  The oncologist and I only briefly discussed the results of the PET at my pre-cycle 5 appointment, and we didn’t look at the images.  Finally, last Friday, we sat down to schedule my next imaging studies to determine if I’ll have 8 cycles of chemo or if I can stop at 6.  At that point we looked at the interpretation of my PET scan and it says “Marked interval decrease in size and resolution of metabolic activity involving the posterior mediastinal and retroperitoneal masses, consistent with good treatment response.”

I have never in my life been so happy to be wrong.

Responses

  1. WooHoo!!!! Best news yet!!! Thanks for making my day, and probably my week, month, and year!!! Make sure you celebrate with all your wonderful boys!!

    Love you,
    Carey

  2. Enjoy being wrong… and well! Congratulations!

  3. Wrong is GOOD. May you and your GUYS enjoy a Happy Mother’s Day!
    Good job Jen.
    Love Y’a
    Uncle Eddie and Aunt June

  4. Way to kick its ass! We knew you could do it! Hopefully this means you’ll only need 6 rounds of chemo and you can put all this behind you. Happy Mother’s Day to you!

    Love,
    Rena, Steve and Marlee

  5. You go Girl! Happy Mother’s Day!

    God bless you,
    Uncle Ken and Aunt Jenny

  6. I’m so glad the PET scan showed active beans not tumor!! I guess the radiologists still have job security 🙂 Here’s keeping my fingers crossed that the magic chemo number is 6.

    Hang in there you mini-van-drivin’-mama.
    Teresa

  7. OH, I’m so pleased to see this update! I’m really tired of this lymphoma thing.

    Get done with it soon, OK Sweetie!

    love you so much, Dad

  8. Wonderful news, Jenn! I hope you got our card and had a great Mother’s Day. I knew that you’d beat the crap out of this lymphoma! Hope you need only the six chemos.

    Lots of love to you, Dan and the boys!

    Nikki


Leave a Reply

Categories

